The Sweetest Year

My son makes every day sweeter! (poop explosions excluded)

Mommy is back at work

on November 13, 2012

My son is 16 months old now and I’ve been back at work for a month. It’s very hard at times, but the routine is slowly settling in.

Image

Damien loves his daycare and it’s such a relief. After a year at home with mom, I didn’t know how he’d react. It’d say it took him 3 weeks to adjust to the new place and new caregiver. He cried the first two days after I left, but after that it was pretty much smooth sailing. We’re very lucky as I know a friend who’s child cried the first two MONTHS and had a very hard time separating from her mother.

The place in daycare I have for Damien is only available until the end of March. I took it anyway because it was a very rare $7/day spot for a 18mo and younger. Until they’re 18 mo old, daycares in Quebec can accommodate only one baby per caregiver. That’s why the spots are so rare. When the time will come to find him a new caregiver in March, Damien will be 21 months old (gulp!) and it should be easier to find then.

Yesterday, the Quebec government announced the creation of 28 000 new $7 spots in daycares. To be created until 2016.  13 000 spots to be open immediately. That’s such a blessing because I believe this will help other families to find affordable day care for their children and maybe will help me find a $7 spot for my baby comes March. (Link)

Image

I did a whole calendar for Damien’s integration to daycare that I’d like to share with you. I remember trying to read onlines about daycare integration and couldn’t find anything with much details.  It’ll have to wait until tomorrow because mommy’s computer time is over now. I have to get myself ready for work, eat breakfast, wake Damien up, change his diaper, dress him up, try to get him to eat something, run after him to put his boots and jacket on, then rush out of the door for the day. Here’s to all of you hard working mamas! (SATM and ‘working’ mothers alike!)

Leave a Reply

