The Sweetest Year

My son makes every day sweeter! (poop explosions excluded)

Calm mommy = calm baby

on March 1, 2012

We woke up after a very good night of sleep! Damien slept from 6PM until 4AM! Then again until 7AM! His nose was cleared and he didn’t have a fever! He was still coughing though but his health really improved from all the symptoms he had in the last few days.

He even ate a big breakfast of baby cereal. Mommy ate this quick Corn Flakes bowl (hiding raspberries under there + spoon of peanut butter + drizzle of maple syrup).

IMG_6546

We played a bit, he seemed fine, but then around 9AM he started crying. I went to play with him, he still cried. I picked him up, tried to breastfeed him, he refused and cried even more. I paced around the room with him for a few minutes but I could tell that didn’t work either. He was moving a lot in my arms, I could tell he was in pain. I tried putting him in a bath, bath always works. But it didn’t work this time, he still cried.

My baby rarely cries like that. I was very scared. What was even more scary was that his crying made him cough and his coughing made his choked on mucus. After choking he cried because it hurt.. and so on. I was like, he’s been sick for almost a week now, this is it we’re going to the clinic! I was trying to talk calmly to him but I was so scared I was shacking! I quickly put a bag together and we were out of the door.

On the way to the clinic, he calmed down and felt asleep in his car seat.  That’s when I realized maybe it was just because he was ready for a nap, but having been sick for a week took a toll, and his way of telling me ‘nap time now mommy’ was different than usual. We went to the clinic anyway because I was afraid something was wrong with his ears or his breathing.

Once at the clinic, we realized that at 9:30, all spots for patients with no-appointments had been filled already. I almost choked up right there. There’s nothing worst than not being able to give proper care to your baby. We went back home and he went straight back to sleep.

IMG_6549

A friend of mine that is a nurse saw my plead on facebook and gave me things to check on the baby to make sure he didn’t have problems breathing. She reassured me and it helped me calm down and breathe a little better.

– Check for Indrawing of chest : depending on the severity of the breathing problem, I’d be able to see little holes between the ribs and under the sternum when the baby is not crying. If the problem is even more severe, I’d be able to see movement in the nostrils with each breath. I remember seeing it between his last two ribs on both sides last night, but that morning he didn’t have any. Good.

– A lot of coughing in an infant will caused vomiting / choking. She says this is normal and as long as the infant can cough it out, not to worry. Ok good to know it might happened.

– When mom panics, the baby can feel it and he’s even more scared. Try to stay calm and reassure him.  Breathe, breathe.

– Even if he doesn’t have a fever, but you feel like he’s not himself and cries more than usual, you can give him Tylenol/Tempra for babies. It’ll help with his discomfort. I stopped giving him when his temp was normal but it’s true that his throat might hurt and he might need help with that.

She really reassured me and I felt so much before. I think mommy was as scared as baby. He woke up an hour later and he was in a good mood. Around noon, he started crying again and doing the same thing. This time, I laid in my bed with him and was able to breastfeed. He calmed down and smiled after eating. A calm mommy is the key.

We went to the library in the afternoon to take a break from all the scary sickness and he loved it. A change of scenery is something we both needed! We came back home and had a nice play time before dinner. He ate all his carrots and some applesauce, then we took a fun bath, played in font of the mirror and went to bed without any fuss.

IMG_6561

Having a sick baby is the worst thing for a mommy. I feel for all the parents with children in hospitals right now. I’m very thankful for my healthy baby! What a day!

Leave a Reply

