The Sweetest Year

My son makes every day sweeter! (poop explosions excluded)

We’re clapping!

on February 23, 2012

We had a great day. It started with a full night of sleep with only one feeding at 1AM. We had breakfast (Oatmeal for mommy, cereal for baby). He ate only a few spoons then didn’t want anymore.

IMG_6470

This is something I have to get used to. Throwing away foods. I grew up in a household where we finished our plates. Not because we didn’t want to and wanted to have dessert, but because we’re big eaters. We get second servings. We always have tons of food on the table.

When I heat up a portion of carrots or use precious breast milk (or expensive formula) to prepare cereal for him, it seems like such a waste to throw in all down the drain when he refuses to eat. Sometimes I try to keep the food in the fridge for an hour or two, maybe he’ll eat it later on? But he never does so it goes in the trash. I try to heat up as little a portion as I can to avoid throwing away too much.

After breakfast, we played together and used our controversial walker to cruise around the house.

IMG_6473

I don’t have any stairs in my house, all doors are closed using child-proofing handles and I always keep an eye on him, so I don’t think it is unsafe for him to play with it. He loved getting around the house and trying to reach for the toys on the chairs!

Then it was nap time and mommy ran everywhere to clean, shower, start laundry and start a batch of steamed carrots.

IMG_6474

My make-do steamer:

IMG_6475

Ikea pasta drainer on top of a medium sized pot with water.

IMG_6477

I used it’d say 4 large carrots for this, it made almost two ice cube trays of baby food. So much cheaper than what you can buy at the store!

IMG_6479

Tomorrow, I’ll transfer all the frozen cubes to ziploc bags and hop! in the freezer. This is over a month of veggie for the baby (as he doesn’t eat carrots every single day… lol!) They’re so easy, just pop a cube in the microwave and defrost for 1 min or heat up for 20 seconds. Ready! Frozen cubes can stay up to 3 months in the freezer!

Lunch was last night (yummy) leftovers + frozen chic peas I heated up.

IMG_6480

I thought of a fun activity to do on this rainy day; the library!

They have a cozy spot for children, with comfy chairs, bean bags and fun carpets. Baby LOVED it. The big windows! The colorful chairs! The little girl reading a book! The paintings on the wall! He was ‘talking’ a bit too loud and chewing the books I was trying to read to him, so we didn’t stay long, but we’ll be back for sure. If we go a few times, I’m sure the over-the-top excited feeling will come down a bit and we’ll be able to read a few books together. Sourire

We came home, he slept for 45 minutes, we played some more then it was time to eat again, take a bath and go night-night.

I didn’t want to dirty any more dishes so I made this version of KERF’s SIAB.

IMG_6482

It looks very weird, but believe me,  I couldn’t taste the greens at all. The crackers on top are Casabi organics cinnamon crackers. I didn’t want to use salty crackers because this smoothie is sweet, so those sweet ones were a fun crunchy toppings.

I’m gonna leave you with a cute video tonight. I was able to make a video of the baby clapping his hands! He started doing it this week, but this was the first time I was able to capture it on film.

I’m off to paint to create a headboard for my bedroom. I want to paint a tree on 3 canvas then separate them on the wall. A bit like this:

Have a great evening!

Leave a Reply

