The Sweetest Year

My son makes every day sweeter! (poop explosions excluded)

City framed

on November 4, 2011

I’ve been trying to decorate my apartment to make it feel more homey and less I’ve-just-moved-in. I went through my frames box and came across prints I bought on my last trip to New York City.

I love NYC. I’ve been many times, but each visit is still vibrant, intoxicating, magic! If I could go every year I would. I can’t wait to show my baby the city, walk in the parks, play in the fountains, see all the lights, even see a play! I’m sure he’ll love it as much as I do. But that’ll have to wait until he’s a bit older. When he’s..3? 4?

IMG_5478 

I wanted to have a corner to represent my favorite city. It makes me smile every time I pass by it. It’s on the way to my bedroom.

The first frame on the left is a print I bought from a street vendor. It’s NY under the rain. It reminds me of all the time you get off the subway and realize there’s torrential rain outside. Running on the sidewalks, flip flops in puddles, smiling at strangers, the umbrellas dance to avoid umbrellas collisions.

IMG_5480

I cut into a tourist map I got on my last trip. I choose this neighborhood because I did a little improvised Sex and the City tour (Carrie’s apartment, Magnolia Bakery) and it was the favorite part of my trip. New Yorkers, Farmer’s market, Courtney Cox and ex-hubby sighting (while they were still together), Outdoor bookstores, Calm streets, Brownstones.

IMG_5481

I bought this in Washington DC I think, but every woman needs a little encouragement from time to time. It’s a Second World War poster asking women to work in factories. I love the pop of color it brings to the ensemble.

IMG_5482

Another print I bought from a street vendor. It’s the first and only Broadway I’ve ever been to. Loved, loved, loved every minute of it. The performers were amazing, the live music, the décor, the singing, everything was perfect.  I can’t wait to go to another Broadway show, I’m hooked! (I stood in line that same morning to get my ticket. I paid $70 for an orchestra ticket, not too shabby!)

IMG_5483

I’m thinking of hanging a blackboard on the opposite wall next to my fridge to balanced it out a bit more. I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

