The Sweetest Year

My son makes every day sweeter! (poop explosions excluded)

Sleep Sense Program – The Night Before

on October 27, 2011

My 4 month old baby has been eating every 2-3 hours since he was born. I would hear mothers from my prenatal classes telling how their babies the same age were sleeping for 5, 6, 7, even 8 hours a night and I would shake my head in disbelief. What do they do that I don’t? Or is there something I do that I shouldn’t?

I was confused, but mostly tired. Let me rewrite that, I was TIRED. Waking up every 2 hours is draining. Waking up every 2 hours for 4 months, exhausting. I knew something had to change since my baby was perfectly healthy, even on the chubby side. I also notice that the night time feedings didn’t last over 5 minutes, he was basically just eating to sooth himself to sleep.

Some people told me to spaced out the feedings during the day. So I started doing that. Feeding him every 3 hours. I thought I’d gradually go to every 4 hours. But I sensed that wasn’t the problem. He was still waking up every 2-3 hours at night.

Then a friend told me about the Sleep Sense program. She did it with her 6 month old and he slept through the night on the third day! A full night of sleep… let’s give it a try!

I read the ebook and thought it made perfect… sense. Basically, it’s based on the fact that babies have to learn how to fall asleep by themselves. No nursing to sleep (what I was doing), no rocking to sleep, no singing to sleep, etc. You get the idea.

Since D was born, he ALWAYS felt asleep while nursing. They might have been a few exceptions of daddy rocking him to sleep, but I’d say he felt asleep nursing 98% of the time. No wonder he cried for me at night when he wake up. He didn’t know any other way to fall asleep!

I jotted down the events and time of the night before starting to program. That way, I’d be able to compare with nights after putting into action the Sleep Sense program.

08:00PM Fall asleep while nursing. Sleep in his crib.
10:30PM Cry. Diaper, feed (~6 mins), sleep.
01:00AM Cry. Diaper, feed (~6 mins), sleep.
03:00AM Cry. Diaper, feed (~7 mins), sleep.
06:30AM Cry. Diaper, feed (~6 mins), sleep.
09:00AM Wake up for the day talking in his crib (the best!), feed (~15mins), diaper.

He woke up every 2 to 3 hours throughout the night. The feedings are pretty consistent too, he felt pretty much asleep on me after 5 mins.

The new day arises and I was ready to start implementing the program. I was anxious but so ready to try something to get my nights back.

And so the first day begins… (To be continued)

 

*Disclaimer: I’m not paid to say any of this. I just did the program and want to share my experience with other parents!

One response to “Sleep Sense Program – The Night Before

  1. […] You can read part one “The night before”. […]

Leave a Reply

